RSS Feed

WTF?

Posted on

I’m not sure now if it’s Blogger’s Block or something completely different. I have just read this http://ht.ly/9dweG and thought, “Gosh, maybe I could respond to this, or add something not too dreary.” So I settled down, opened a new post and that thing happened. You know when you open the door to the party and are blown off your feet by the noise, so you close the door to shut out the noise, and then open it again to make sure you really heard all that racket. That’s the inside of my head. I peeked inside to see what I could find with regard to error correction and was just bombarded by this appalling din. I went home.

Then a couple of days ago, I opened an email on the BESIG Yahoo Groups about stative verbs and the continuous – or – is it the progressive? – form – tense- idea (whatever you wish – don’t get me started….). Again – a tentative opening of the brain department only to be assaulted by this infernal row. I don’t know what to do about it. It’s like Babel in there. Not a thing gets mentioned, or an opinion aired, or a question asked that doesn’t result in this tumult of clamouring. It’s not me, I promise. It’s my brain. It goes into this frenzy of discussion with itself – pontificating, sermonising, rambling on and on, expounding away as if there were hundreds of people actually listening. As soon as I open the door, millions of thoughts and opinions rush towards the light, with lots of pushing and shoving and falling over each other trying to get an airing; and there’s this sort of chaotic crush and collision at the entrance which lands up being just a random pile of jumbled nonsense. I’m beginning to wonder if I have ever had a coherent train of thought. It seems impossible at the moment to order this mangled melee of thoughts, suppositions, views and theories that infests my brain into anything that could possibly be transcribed into something that doesn’t sound like demented drivel.

Maybe there’s too much in there that hasn’t had a chance to be tested or flighted. Maybe my filing system has got corrupted somewhere along the line. Maybe there’s been an overload somewhere causing synapse failure or whatever it is. Or maybe it’s just age…..? Whatever it is, I’m going to have to take the bull by the horns and get in there to do some spring cleaning – it’s a complete shambles and needs sorting.

2 responses »

  1. Oh yes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

