RSS Feed

And then……

Posted on

It’s been a long, long week by any standards. I worked on Sunday night and here I am at my desk on a Bank Holiday. 59 hours in all this week. I grumble and moan about it and truth be known, one of the reasons I do it is because I have always suffered from PMS (Perpetual Martyr Syndrome). But there are benefits – they are few and far between, but when they come, it’s like the sun coming out on a grey day.

Last night – yes I was working – was the last evening for one of our perennial returner students. He has been coming to the school for 10 years and returns more or less annually for a brush up and polish, so to speak. During the later evening, after a certain amount of wine had been consumed, he stood up and said words to this effect:

I have been coming here for ten years. My reasons for coming have changed over the years. Obviously I started coming to improve my English which was very necessary for me in my job. But for the last three or four years I have realised that when I come here it isn’t only my control over English that improves. While I am here, doing my classes and concentrating on my communication, I also have time to listen to myself and to renew myself.

My week – in fact my work – is entirely justified.

5 responses »

  1. Know what you mean by PMS (great acronym) – but those little comments by students really do make it all worthwhile

    Best wishes
    Richard

    p.s you seem to have got over your blogger’s block 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Richard – thank you so much for stopping by. I’m not sure about getting over “blogger’s block”. I’ve just decided that it doesn’t have to be A) long or B) terribly relevant!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. Good to get some positive feedback – rare as rocking horses’ shite, positive feedback is. Congratulations! When do you get the chance to renew yourself, though?

    Reply
    • Ah Steve – thank you so. I have to work that in somehow. I have a week off in Wales from now and am determined to work out a way of working more efficiently….Maybe I could visit Stamford. Any photo opps locally?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

